My First 10K

OMG I’m super excited and a little freaked out. I just signed up for a 10K. A 10k!! I haven’t even finished the Couch to 5k.

This morning I got up and went to the gym and worked out for 2 hours. I started Week 3 Day 1 of the Couch to 5k. I was really nervous about starting Week 3 because of the 3 minute intervals. But I did it! and it was REALLY hard. I was breathing so hard my heart rate got up to 160 which is not even safe I don’t think.

Afterwards I went to Bodyworks for a hour and I finally picked up some weights during class. They are only 2.5 lbs., but hey everyone has to start somewhere. Afterwards I got back on the treadmill and walked at a 4.0 incline for 30 minutes.

I really like that workout schedule. It works for me.

After leaving LA Fitness this morning I went to a Running store called the Runners Den to get fitted for proper running shoes. It was a good experience, my salesperson Craig, was very knowledgeable. He had me take off my shoes and socks so he could look at my feet and see how I stand and walk. He said I turn my feet to the side when I walk so I needed a specific shoe to correct that. He had me try on three different kinds of shoes and then walk outside while he watched my gait.

He suggested the Asics Gel Foundation.

I like them they are pink, yaay. I wanted a pair of more brighter color shoes but he said I can’t have them. LOL

These shoes were $100.

Anyway Yall, this is the first time I have EVER bought sneakers that were not Adidas. I am a ADIDAS brand loyalist, but I had to do what was right for my feet.

They have all kinds of sports bras too. So I bought one. It’s a little small, just a little, it’s a 44DD. I’m a 46F and dropping. I might be a 44F or 44DDD now actually. I don’t know, I havent been measured in forever. But it was only $42 and with my discount it came to $36. Half the price of a Enell bra.

So by the checkout counter they have all these energy gels and stuff I’ve heard about and I asked the cashier, Barry, if I needed that stuff. He said only if I workout for more than 90 minutes at a time, which I DO sometimes. He said after 90 minutes your body starts burning muscle so this energy gel stuff helps to stop that. you’re suppose to take it around the 45 minute mark. I bought Honey Stinger and Gu gel products.

Then Barry said “You should sign up for our running program”. I was disinterested as he was describing it, because it cost $150. The price turned me off right away. But as he was ringing me up, I read more about the program and it actually sounded really good.

your participation fee includes:

  • 12 weeks of supervised training ($100 value)
  • $100 shoe credit for any regularly priced shoe at Runner’s Den (I basically got my shoes for free today!)
  • 3TV Phoenix 10K/Half Marathon race entry ($60 value)
  • Permanent membership into the Runner’s Den Customer Rewards Program ($25 value)
  • 10% discount on all regularly priced in-store Runner’s Den purchases (excluding gift cards) through 12/31/12.

Participants who complete the program and participate in a minimum of six group training runs will also receive:

  • A technical running shirt ($25 value)
  • Feetures socks ($12 value)
  • Special race day services at our hospitality tent

A $325 Value for $150!

So I went out on a limb and said “you now what Barry. I’m gonna do it!”. I said “do you REALLY think I can do it?” He said , no problem, they can get me there in 6 weeks even though the training program is 12 weeks.

I was freaking out inside. A 10k? Oh Lordy. The 10k is November 4, 2012

Our first training session starts tomorrow at 6am. I have to go to bed super early tonight, like by 9pm. I have never run OUTSIDE before. Part of me is like “what have I gotten myself into?” but part of me is just really excited.

We train Saturdays and Wednesdays. Plus I will keep doing the couch to 5k too!

I am sooo happy that me and my college roommate Amy bought those Camelbacks a couple years ago cause I’m gonna need that tomorrow.

I have never done anything athletic in my life so this is just so new to me.

I went on Amazon just now and bought the Polar FT7 Women’s Heart Rate Monitor Watch, and a Apple ipod shuffle. My ipods were stolen by a roommate earlier this year so I have no MUSIC to listen to on my runs.  I don’t even know how I’m going to get music on there. It’s too expensive to buy like 100 songs. I use to have THOUSANDS of songs. It was so heartbreaking when he stole my ipods, I filed a police report but nothing came of it.

My calories this week have been REALLY low. I’m talking under 1000 on a couple days. I attribute that to my vampire status of sleeping all day and staying up all night on the computer.

Well my sleep schedule is changing, in fact last night I went to bed at midnight and woke up around 8am to hit the gym so I expect to reach my calorie goals today (1600 – 1800).

I’ve been reading about getting a coach It’s helpful when you want to lose fat and also if you want to get into fitness (figure/bodybuilding) competing. I think for now I’m going to see how far I can get on my own. I have ALOT of weight to lose and I AM losing every week. If I get to a place where I’m not seeing results , I may hire a coach to help with both my nutrition and exercise.

3 thoughts on “My First 10K

  1. ichoosetolivestronger August 11, 2012 at 12:38 am Reply

    What a huge day for you! The first trip to the good shoe store is quite shocking. ;). You’ll never like to wear old shoes again. Same thing goes for a good bra! Ha ha.

    Congratulations on stepping out for a big challenge…that a big one, but you’ll get there! I’m glad to hear you’re going to get a heart monitor. Make sure you get a fitness guru to give you advice about your target zones for workouts. The book that come with the monitor and Internet sites do not calculate it properly. (it matches what the treadmills say and it isn’t accurate). Pedometers are good tools, too. Stay strong!

    • Fat To Figure Girl August 11, 2012 at 12:52 am Reply

      thank you, yes the shoe store was eye opening. hmm how to find a fitness guru…

      • ichoosetolivestronger August 11, 2012 at 1:17 am

        Someone with a sports medicine degree…like a physical therapist is a good place to start. “Some” of the trainers at the gym may have some education in fitness. I need to adjust my numbers, I will try to get them to write down the math equation…just in case you can’t find someone. :). My range right now is 135 – 145 for cardio, but I spike higher at the end of leg intervals and with inclines.

Leave a Reply

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

Black Hijabi In Indonesia

The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Hollywood Life

Latest Hollywood Gossip, News & Celeb Pics

Triathlon-My-Ass-Along

On my way to swimming, biking and running to a new life.

TRANSFORMATION PICS

IF WE CAN DO IT, YOU CAN DO IT - INSPIRE & BE INSPIRED

Markvaughan2009's Blog

Sharing thoughts on fitness and weight loss...

Bella on the Beach

My journey to lose 160 pounds and to finally be able to wear a bathing suit (and look good!) on the beach.

Amazing in Motion

I'm a mom, a wife, a nurse and now I'm a runner...catch me if you can!

