Week 4 of Couch to 5k – First try

I wore a different exercise bra today, I guess you can’t really see the difference, but it felt like my boobs were up to my chin.

Today I wanted to go hard in the gym, so I took everyone’s advice and tried Week 4 of the Couch to 5k. The first running interval was 3 minutes and my calves were on fire by the end of that. They only gave 90 seconds to walk before going into the 5 minute running interval. I tried. I really tried, but after 1 minute my calves were burning so hot I could barely move them so I slowed the treadmill down to 2.4 and walked for a minute. Then I just kept doing 1 minute intervals of running. I couldn’t even do the last 3 minute interval. The weird thing to me is that I wasn’t even breathing that hard which shocks me cause I have asthma.  The ONLY problem was my calves, if it wasn’t for the calf pain I could have kept going. So I just gotta figure out if there is some specific calf exercises I can do to be able to push for a longer run.

I’m going to keep redoing Week 4 until I can run 5 minutes without stopping.

After that I went to Bodyworks. I think my body really responded to a week off from Bodyworks cause it was much easier today than before. I didn’t have to take as many breaks in between reps. I did almost fall off the step during the balance work though.

I noticed that my knees didn’t hurt this time. Also I did a plank for like 4 seconds!

I wore my heart rate monitor and it surprised me that my heart rate got up MUCH higher during weight training than during the couch to 5k. My heart rate stays around 147 during the couch to 5k . At some points during Bodyworks my heart rate got up to 157. I was like whoah!

Anyway I was happy with my workout today.

After the gym I went to the grocery store to pick up some snacks, ie. sweet potatoes, apples, peaches, kiwi, Chobani greek yogurt. I wanted some blue cheese but it was friggin $7. Are they crazy?

I haven’t had what I would consider dessert (cake, ice cream, cookies, pies) in about 6 weeks. I haven’t missed it much but today while grocery shopping I decided to go down the ice cream aisle. Oh they had all kinds of flavors, carrot cake ice cream, red velvet cake ice cream. They had that Arctic Zero ice cream that supposedly has 150 calories per pint. (I read a article today that said that was misleading). I started to put the red velvet cake ice cream in my cart but then I thought I had already tried it before, I couldn’t remember and then I said to myself, no ice cream will taste as good as this 12 lbs I just lost that I will regain if I eat ice-cream right now. I worked too hard to get that 12 lbs off, I don’t want to take a step back and I’m not CRAVING ice cream. If I start craving it, I will get some. I’m not depriving myself of it, but it’s unnecessary to get it if I’m not even really wanting it badly. I think the greek yogurt and fruit is replacing my need for high sugar desserts. I’m also still addicted to fruit juice. I haven’t been able to cut that although I did start buying Lite fruit juice. But I think it’s an improvement to have a cup of fruit juice over a slice of Italian creme cake.

6 thoughts on “Week 4 of Couch to 5k – First try

  1. Naz August 21, 2012 at 5:24 am Reply

    Hey Vicki, I get calf pain too when I run. It’s coz I have very tight calves. So if you can’t bear to get them massaged on a regular basis, definitely start foam rolling. Just like this:

    • CiCi August 23, 2012 at 2:55 am Reply

      I LOVE my foam roller 🙂

  2. Shannon August 22, 2012 at 3:31 pm Reply

    Does your heart rate monitor have a chest strap too or just the watch? My hubby is looking for a reliable one and doesnt like the chest strap.

    • Fat to Figure GIrl August 22, 2012 at 6:56 pm Reply

      yes it has a chest strap. I thought it was just a watch when I bought it. I was surprised that it had a chest strap in the package, but someone told me thats the only way it works.

  3. CiCi August 23, 2012 at 2:58 am Reply

    Way to go trying the week 4 and on putting the ice cream back. You have a great attitude about this. Keep at it on the treadmill, those calves will get used to running in a little while. Do you have that problem outside as well? I think the foam rolling that Naz mentioned will help but I also think it will just take some time.

  4. ichoosetolivestronger August 25, 2012 at 2:13 am Reply

    Just checking in on you. I hope you are still staying strong. Tomorrow is a day off from the gym, which means some good cardio in the morning. Blah! Stay strong. A new bra size for you…yay!

Leave a Reply

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

Black Hijabi In Indonesia

The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Hollywood Life

Latest Hollywood Gossip, News & Celeb Pics

Triathlon-My-Ass-Along

On my way to swimming, biking and running to a new life.

TRANSFORMATION PICS

IF WE CAN DO IT, YOU CAN DO IT - INSPIRE & BE INSPIRED

Markvaughan2009's Blog

Sharing thoughts on fitness and weight loss...

Bella on the Beach

My journey to lose 160 pounds and to finally be able to wear a bathing suit (and look good!) on the beach.

Amazing in Motion

I'm a mom, a wife, a nurse and now I'm a runner...catch me if you can!

