My first race

that’s me in the pink shirt way back there

Today I run/walked my first race, the phoenix10k. I was  very excited and nervous last night and couldn’t get to sleep till almost 2 am. I woke up according to my clock at 6am. I took my vitamins and had a horrible breakfast that I’m too ashamed to specify.

I was supposed to meet Dottie at her house at 7:30 am. Well at “6:45” she called me and asked “are you almost here?”. I said “I’m supposed to be there at 7:30 right?” she said yea and I said “what time is it?” she said 7:45.

HOLY SHIZZLE!

My stupid alarm clock was a hour slow! I was panicked. I didn’t want to hold her up any longer so I told her I would meet them downtown at the start line. I ran out the door and drove downtown within 25 minutes. I thought parking was going to be awful but it wasn’t. There was a practically empty parking lot on 3rd street near Jefferson that I parked at for $5. I saw some of the half marathon runners on their way back.

I threw on my Camelback and walked the couple of blocks to Central and Jefferson where all kinds of vendors were set up giving away free food. It was around 8:25 am. I picked up a banana and a sample of Planters cinnamon raisin peanut butter to put on it. DEEELISHUS! Radio Disney was there as well as a lady demonstrating Jazzercise in the middle of the street. There were thousands of people out there.

I headed to the Runners Den tent because I figured I’d see some people I trained with. I was right. I don’t know their names though but I hung out with them for 25 minutes and we headed to the starting line together. They played the national anthem and the mayor was out there giving a speech before the race. Then the race started and thousands of people passed me by. LOL . I started off running a little bit, but then slowed into my fast walk pace. I did 16 minutes the first mile. I walked with one of the older women from my training group who had hurt her foot so she couldn’t run. I kept looking for Dottie but didn’t see her behind me until after the half way point. It felt like we were run/walking forever. I was like “what did I get myself into?” but I couldn’t stop, I just kept pushing forward. It was nice down Central Ave, we passed the Phoenix Art Museum and the Heard Museum. I was like wow, I’ve driven this route several times.

running across the finish line

Finally I saw the 6 mile marker and I felt someone staring at me. I turned around and it was my boyfriend!

my boyfriend took this picture of me at the finish line. That’s Gatorade in my hand.

I was soo excited to see him, he caught up with me on the asphalt. He had parked on 4th ave not too far from the finish line. Oh I was just overwhelmed that he came out to see me finish.

I made sure to run the last .2 miles to the finish line. My time was 1:42:37 and my pace was 16:31 for this 10k. My training partners Ashley and Elizabeth were at the finish line cheering me on and Elizabeth took this picture of me towards the finish of the race.

You can see more pictures of me at http://www.zazoosh.com/events/searchPhotos/685?evtId=685&query=477&x=18&y=15

Afterwards we waited for Dottie and screamed, hollered and cheered her on to the finish line.

Then we all went to Tom’s Tavern to meet up with the other runners from the Runners Den. Most of us had a Bloody Mary to celebrate the race.

All in all it was a good race. No injuries or catasrophe’s during my training nor during the race.

My next race is the 4K “Four Leaf Clover Run/Walk” of the Kiss Me I’m Irish run in March. It’s in my town, Glendale. I want to run the whole thing though so that’s why I chose a shorter race. I will feel accomplishded if I can run the whole thing without walking.

2 thoughts on “My first race

  1. ichoosetolivestronger November 4, 2012 at 9:30 pm Reply

    Wow! Congratulations on finishing a huge race! You are doing so good.

  2. Jen November 4, 2012 at 9:43 pm Reply

    Congrats!! That’s sooo awesome! Looking strong 🙂

Leave a Reply

Melissa Explains It All

My Life unfiltered... all in good humor

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

Black Hijabi In Indonesia

The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Hollywood Life

Latest Hollywood Gossip, News & Celeb Pics

Triathlon-My-Ass-Along

On my way to swimming, biking and running to a new life.

TRANSFORMATION PICS

IF WE CAN DO IT, YOU CAN DO IT - INSPIRE & BE INSPIRED

Markvaughan2009's Blog

Sharing thoughts on fitness and weight loss...

Bella on the Beach

My journey to lose 160 pounds and to finally be able to wear a bathing suit (and look good!) on the beach.

Amazing in Motion

I'm a mom, a wife, a nurse and now I'm a runner...catch me if you can!

