Plateau Desperation

Yesterday I hit below 240 to 239.5 lbs. Today, I am back at 240.5 which would mean I have not lost any weight this week.
I am distraught.
I have been extremely strict on my diet. Kept my calories low. I have worked out every day, taking one rest day. I don’t know what else to do except to increase my exercise time to 2 hours a day instead of one. I can’t eat any less. When I eat more, I GAIN weight.
Last night I tried eating more. I had some sushi, but I also had drinks for the first time in a month. I had 3 small margaritas and a fruity drink with southern comfort in it. I had 2000 calories yesterday. For the past month I’ve been keeping my calories low to about 1200 a day of real clean food. I have cut out processed food. I don’t eat fried food. I do still have sugar particularly in my 1 serving of greek yogurt per day but I’ve cut my sugar consumption drastically. I was all about sugar for years. Piles and piles of cakes, cookies, pies, cupcakes. I love sugar. But I have cut it way down to just 1 serving of greek yogurt and the occasional whole fruit. But on a regular basis its just the greek yogurt which has 20 grams of sugar in it. Also, I am always hungry now, even right after eating a meal. I attribute this to the fact that I am not eating processed carbohydrates such as bread or cake. My body is accustomed to getting full off of cake and since i have cut that out, I am always hungry no matter what I eat.

I am NOT on this journey to get healthy by the way. I am already healthy according to my doctors, I don’t have high blood pressure, or diabetes or high cholesterol or thyroid issues. I am on this journey to LOSE weight so that I can get HIRED in the fitness industry. So that when I go to interviews at spas they don’t reject me because I am fat which I suspect has happened in the past. I want to work in a industry that is all about aesthetics. Spa resorts like hiring healthy LOOKING people. Very few people will want to hire a FAT personal trainer. One of the reasons I want to do the figure competition is because I think it will be good promotion for me as a personal trainer in the future. I am in school studying to be a personal trainer. My FUTURE depends on me losing weight.

I have ALOT of pressure on myself to lose weight. So it’s devastating to me when I do all this work, sacrifice cupcakes and alcohol, push myself to go to the gym and there is no change on the scale.

Also, it feels like I am working out hard and my calves are burning when I am exercising but then when I look at the calories burned on my heart rate monitor, they are so low. I was so irritated today cause I walked at a hill incline on the treadmill for 45 minutes and all I burned was 245 calories. There are people who burn 500 calories in a hour, why am I burning so few? Why does it feel like my intensity is high but it doesn’t show that in my calories burned? I am still working on my running. 5 minutes still burns but I am still doing the 5 minute intervals. I’m going to try to push past it this upcoming week.

I think I need to do more as far as exercise goes. The people on the Biggest Loser drop huge numbers because they are working out like 4 hours a day. So maybe I can do 2 hours a day. I will have to start going back to the exercise classes in the morning. If I could only get to sleep at night. My sleep schedule is completely upside down. I wonder if that is affecting my cortisol levels. Increased cortisol can make it dificult to lose weight. I get alot of sleep though. 12 hours a day of sleep actually.

I’m just frustrated and desperate at this point.

2 thoughts on “Plateau Desperation

  1. mimigettingfit February 24, 2013 at 12:13 pm Reply

    I completely understand….I’ve been at a plateau for 4 weeks now, it is the most frustrating time. The last week I’ve made some changes to my routine, bumped up intervals, not eating past 7, trying new foods. The scales has gone down slightly, so movement in the right direction. Stay strong! I know how frustrating it is. You have accomplished so much so far.
    Oh, and don’t compare yourself to the BL people! All they do is train, train, train. And if you google past winners now, they have gained weight back because their lifestyle at the ranch is not realistic to what we face in real life.
    A suggestion I have is to incorporate some intervals of high intensity into your treadmill time, maybe that will help.
    I love your blog, it is such a motivation for me. Stay strong!! =)

  2. Cherie @ Cherie Runs This February 24, 2013 at 8:39 pm Reply

    Hey Vicki!

    In my food prep pic it was roasted chicken, broccoli, asparagus, brown rice, protein waffles, tunafish salad, chicken salad, grapes, paleo banana bread muffins, and baggies of 20 almonds each. No–I don’t do 3 hours a day. That’s way too much! I do morning cardio before work, for about 35 minutes, four times a week, and then I go to the gym after work for about an hour to lift weights and do a little more cardio, four times a week. Saturday and Sunday I do workouts at home and the duration just depends on what I’m doing. Friday is my complete rest day. I just make sure that each workout is filled with HIIT. (Google it) I also eat about 6 times a day to make sure my metabolism is constantly going and it’s pretty darn clean as well. But my workouts now are more strength training based than cardio centered due to my personal goals at this point. Remember–my weight DID NOT come off over night. It took me a looooooooooooong time before I could even see results, much less anyone else seeing them. I just had to stick with it and keep going!

    And make sure you’re following me on my Facebook page and Instagram if you have it because I answered those two questions on there already days ago! 😉

Leave a Reply

Melissa Explains It All

My Life unfiltered... all in good humor

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

Black Hijabi In Indonesia

The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Hollywood Life

Latest Hollywood Gossip, News & Celeb Pics

Triathlon-My-Ass-Along

On my way to swimming, biking and running to a new life.

TRANSFORMATION PICS

IF WE CAN DO IT, YOU CAN DO IT - INSPIRE & BE INSPIRED

Markvaughan2009's Blog

Sharing thoughts on fitness and weight loss...

Bella on the Beach

My journey to lose 160 pounds and to finally be able to wear a bathing suit (and look good!) on the beach.

Amazing in Motion

I'm a mom, a wife, a nurse and now I'm a runner...catch me if you can!

