The Weight Loss (FASTING) Struggles

I wanted to post a new vlog, but I am tired of not seeing myself pulled together in these videos as far as hair and makeup. So it’s easier for me to just write up a blog than to get dressed up, do my makeup and do something with my hair late at night when I have something I want to say.

I did that lemonade cleanse for 3-4 days and lost 7 pounds and went down to 251 pounds. (which is still a 20 lb gain from May 2013). After those 3-4  days I tried to start the juice fast because I was feeling sick from the lemonade cleanse.

For 1 day I did the juice fast.

Then I went on a binge for 2-3 weeks. and my weight went up to 266 pounds. I was eating ALOT of food and none of it was good. I’ve been eating junk at restaurants and ordering junk home. I ate an entire pizza, I ate a box of 12 cupcakes from Fry’s Grocery Store (not the gourmet ones I talk about). Keep in mind I was still drinking the juice the whole time too.

4 days ago I tried to start the juice fast again.

I made it through Day 1 with just the juice.

Day 2- I lost 5 pounds. I was craving chocolate so I ate a twix bar and a Hershey with almond. I had nothing else that day but juice.

Day 3- I did ok juicing the whole day till night time came and I was craving food, but I was too lazy to go buy food and I didn’t want to order junk. So I made a salad with spinach, cucumbers, a can of water packed tuna and a couple tablespoons of lite Dijon dressing. Then I ate 2 bananas cause I couldn’t find anything else to eat in my house.

Day 4- TODAY – I woke up craving waffles. I tried to just drink the juice but I was miserable, I was hungry, I felt like I was going thru a slow torture. Starvation is a slow torture I believe. So I said “forget this I’m going to eat”, so I drove and drove till I found something I wanted to eat. It was Einstein Bagel. Asiago bagel with cream cheese, salmon, tomatoe and onions.

I decided to go to Trader Joe’s and get some salads and indian food because if I’m going to eat, it might as well be convenient and relatively healthy.

The thing with me is if I have to cook my food, I’m not going to eat that, I will order junk or go find junk. Cooking for me is not realistic because I prefer my food to be ready within 3 minutes.

So I buy pre-made fresh salads from Trader Joes. And I love the Trader Joe’s Indian Food.

But before I made it to Trader Joe’s I wanted a oreo cupcake. But I have to be honest here, I didn’t even really want that oreo cupcake. It was just the fact that I was on the side of town where the gourmet cupcakes are, that I decided to get cupcakes. To me that is dysfunctional thinking when it comes to food. I told myself I was going to just get one cupcake but when I got inside there were other new flavors I wanted to try so I ended up with 4 because I have a coupon for buy 3 get one free. I didn’t even want 4 cupcakes, but I wanted the deal. The oreo cupcake was not really good. Not worth the calories. But the banana split cupcake was amazing. Yes I ate 2 cupcakes. When I eat like that, I feel like my whole day is ruined so I might as well just eat every and any thing. (That’s how I got fat) So for dinner my boyfriend took me out to karaoke and I ate lamb kabobs with salad and fries. I had a Adios M’fer, a Long Island Ice Tea and a shot of tequila. Didn’t even get a buzz off that alcohol.

Anyway, I wanted to be really honest in this blog and let you guys know whats going on. I’m trying to get inspiration and motivation off watching weight loss youtube videos like this one http://youtu.be/pL5c4SA3Dcs. I’m trying to come up with a new plan for myself.

I don’t want to give up on the juice fast yet but I think my endurance for any type of fast is right around 3 days, then I HAVE to eat otherwise I will binge. So maybe if I can have a plan for those days when I HAVE to eat, like have some pre made salads available or some indian food, maybe I won’t go ravaging junk.

I also am going to get back into recording my calories. I don’t know how to record the calories in my juice, but I can record my v-8 calories or my protein smoothie calories and almost any food I eat calories. I stopped doing that completely because I KNEW I was eating really high calories and I didn’t want to see the number. But now I’m going to force myself to see the numbers, maybe I won’t eat that whole pizza and 6 pack of chicken wings.

I also want to get back into exercise. I still have my membership at LA Fitness, although it expires in February. Now I am back in class  and I am taking a class called Exercise Physiology and a class called Fundamentals of Strength Training. That Exercise Physiology class is super duper hard by the way. It’s basically memorizing Anatomy and Physiology, with a bit of exercise functional knowledge thrown in. For example, this week I had to learn the names of all the bones in the body and next week she’s going to give us a blank skeleton for our test and we have to label the bones on it. Well there’s certain bones that you have to know additional things about like the greater trochanter and the olecreon process, because you use those as guide marks when you are doing caliper body fat testing. Then we’ll have to learn all the muscles, etc.. Well I feel like a hypocrite in these classes so I want to get back into exercising.

I think the main reason I stopped exercising is because I couldn’t get my diet into check and therefore I was exercising but not losing weight, which is very frustrating. But now I have a weekly reminder (class) that exercise is for more than weight loss. Like my teacher said, exercise is a poor weight loss method, because to lose 1 pound of fat you have to burn 3500 calories. The average person does 30 minutes on the treadmill at a speed of 3.5 . That burns about 200- 250 calories. 2-3 times per week is the average commitment people can make to the gym. It would take you 4 weeks to lose 1 pound if you just relied on exercise with those numbers.

Exercise is good for my bones. Exercise is good for my heart. Exercise is good for my blood pressure. Exercise is good for my cholesterol. It’s not just for weight loss.

Anyway, I’m not ready to completely give up on juice fasting, I’m going to try my new plan and see if that helps at all. I WILL keep you guys updated. I will post more vlogs, but I’m just not going to do them looking a hot mess anymore.

One thought on “The Weight Loss (FASTING) Struggles

  1. Heather September 13, 2014 at 10:49 pm Reply

    I stumbled upon your story today and wondered how you are doing with your journey? I know the struggle myself. I’ve always been overweight–except for the two years in h.s. When I was anorexic. I went to college and gained it all back. I worked full time and was a full time student. I stopped caring about my body and neglected me. Now I struggle to keep active with my desk job. I’m back in the gym and tracking my food–too much food. Everything you said about one slip up ruining your whole day diet-wise, and that turns into a week, amonth–I hear you. Know you’re not alone in your struggle. One day at a time. I’m terrified my scale reads 250–I have to do this. Much love and respect to you!

    -H

Leave a Reply

Melissa Explains It All

My Life unfiltered... all in good humor

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

Black Hijabi In Indonesia

The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Hollywood Life

Latest Hollywood Gossip, News & Celeb Pics

Triathlon-My-Ass-Along

On my way to swimming, biking and running to a new life.

TRANSFORMATION PICS

IF WE CAN DO IT, YOU CAN DO IT - INSPIRE & BE INSPIRED

Markvaughan2009's Blog

Sharing thoughts on fitness and weight loss...

Bella on the Beach

My journey to lose 160 pounds and to finally be able to wear a bathing suit (and look good!) on the beach.

Amazing in Motion

I'm a mom, a wife, a nurse and now I'm a runner...catch me if you can!

