Adrenal Fatigue

I just took this test at http://www.drberg.com/body-type-quiz that told me I have adrenal syndrome.

Adrenal fatigue is a term that’s used by some to say that fatigue and other symptoms are caused by a poorly working adrenal gland in people who are under mental, emotional, or physical stress. But it’s not a proven medical condition. Your adrenal glands make hormones. One of these is cortisol, which helps your body deal with stress.  According to the adrenal fatigue theory, if your life is too stressful, your adrenal glands may not pump out enough hormones, leading to a wide variety of symptoms. But there’s no evidence to support this theory. (web md)

I don’t think I have adrenal syndrome or fatigue. I think there is a lot of over diagnosing of adrenal fatigue going on in the fitness world right now. To say that 80% of people have some type of adrenal fatigue is ludicrous to me. That test does not take into account that I am over 300 pounds and very sedentary.

One of the main symptoms of adrenal fatigue is that when you wake up you still feel tired and you feel a little lethargic throughout the day. When I wake up, I have loads of energy and I want to do stuff. I just have no ideas of what to do so I end up sitting on my couch watching tv or laying in bed watching youtube.

Other symptoms of adrenal fatigue are:

  • Trouble getting out of bed.
  • Chronic tiredness, even after you wake up in the morning.
  • Trouble thinking clearly or finishing your tasks.

I don’t have any of those issues, and even if I did, those symptoms can be attributed to other things like depression.

After I took that test they tried to sell me supplements to support and repair your adrenals. Be cautious with unproven treatments. According to the Endocrine Society, some supplements sold for adrenal health may be harmful. Some of these contain extracts of human hormone glands.

If you need more energy think about your lifestyle,

  • Eat plenty of fruits, vegetables, and lean meat. Avoid junk food.
  • Get enough sleep.
  • Exercise regularly.
Leave a Reply

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

Black Hijabi In Indonesia

The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Hollywood Life

Latest Hollywood Gossip, News & Celeb Pics

Triathlon-My-Ass-Along

On my way to swimming, biking and running to a new life.

TRANSFORMATION PICS

IF WE CAN DO IT, YOU CAN DO IT - INSPIRE & BE INSPIRED

Markvaughan2009's Blog

Sharing thoughts on fitness and weight loss...

Bella on the Beach

My journey to lose 160 pounds and to finally be able to wear a bathing suit (and look good!) on the beach.

Amazing in Motion

I'm a mom, a wife, a nurse and now I'm a runner...catch me if you can!

