1 pound down

It been a rough week for weight loss efforts over here in Vicki land. I’ve seen .5 pounds come and go several times this week. The problem is my period. I usually gain about 5 pounds on my period but I lowered my calories to 1500 or less so that I could see a weight loss. Turns out I only lost 1 pound but I’m happy I didn’t gain.

My diet has been going according to plan. The only negative thing about my diet is all the sodium that’s in the microwaved meals I eat.one of my meals had like 1100 grams of sodium in it. Sodium is contraindicated for high blood pressure. The only thing that I could do is cook my food, but we know that is not maintainable for me, because I hate cooking. When I lose like 150 pounds and get ready for contest prep, I will cook my food but not this far out in the weight loss process. I don’t want to stress myself out and I don’t want to burn myself out with cooking. That’s one of the problems I had last time.

This week I exercised a bit. Just walking, sometimes outside, sometimes on the treadmill. I don’t exercise on my period because I get nauseous and cramps. I tried though, but I got so sick, I had to stop after 22 minutes. Anyway, I’ve been walking at a slow 2mph just to get my body moving. I know I will have to increase my intensity to see some real calories burned, but the slow walking should help my heart and blood pressure.

I’ve been going over to bodybuilding.com and reading all the info for female bodybuilders. Man I really need to lift weights but I just don’t know where to start on my own. Cardio is so much simpler. The thing is they were saying how to get competition ready, you have to be lifting for over 2 years. So I figure I better start now and then when I get rid of this fat there will be a good base of muscle underneath. My only concern is that I will gain weight if I gain muscle. Also I heard a coach say that you can’t lose fat and gain muscle at the same time. My priority is losing fat. I know that muscle helps burn a few calories at rest. For each pound of muscle gained, you’ll burn about 6-10 calories. That can help a little with weight loss efforts.

My apartment complex has a decent small gym. They have a variety of weights, and a little machine with a lat pull down, leg press, leg extension and triceps press down on it. It also has 2 treadmills, 2 elliptical and a bicycle and a decline sit up bench. I can get a decent workout in there.

Anyway, next week more of the same, but try to increase my cardio a little bit.

Leave a Reply

Melissa Explains It All

My Life unfiltered... all in good humor

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

Black Hijabi In Indonesia

The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Hollywood Life

Latest Hollywood Gossip, News & Celeb Pics

Triathlon-My-Ass-Along

On my way to swimming, biking and running to a new life.

TRANSFORMATION PICS

IF WE CAN DO IT, YOU CAN DO IT - INSPIRE & BE INSPIRED

Markvaughan2009's Blog

Sharing thoughts on fitness and weight loss...

Bella on the Beach

My journey to lose 160 pounds and to finally be able to wear a bathing suit (and look good!) on the beach.

Amazing in Motion

I'm a mom, a wife, a nurse and now I'm a runner...catch me if you can!

