Intuition

Have you guys heard about Intuitive eating? One of the principles is:

Make Peace with Food Call a truce, stop the food fight! Give yourself unconditional permission to eat. If you tell yourself that you can’t or shouldn’t have a particular food, it can lead to intense feelings of deprivation that build into uncontrollable cravings and, often, bingeing When you finally “give-in” to your forbidden food, eating will be experienced with such intensity, it usually results in Last Supper overeating, and overwhelming guilt.

I’ve been trying to focus on intuitive eating and I just take it to a terrible extreme it seems. Recording my calories has been sporadic and I haven’t weighed myself in 3 weeks cause I’m worried about what the scale will say. I’ll say it’s been about a month where I have been eating all kinds of food, basically going to the other extreme that isn’t oatmeal and salads. (I did buy salads from Trader Joe’s this week though)

For the past 2 weeks, I have been obsessed with iced coffee. I’m not even a coffee drinker, I’ve gone to all kinds of places to get it, Dunkin Donuts, Paradise Bakery, McDonalds, Starbucks, Denny’s. Just on the search for the perfect Iced Coffee. Dunkin Donuts has one called Butter Pecan Iced Latte that is really good. So many calories in iced coffee though.

Another Principle of Intuitive Eating is; Challenge the Food Police .Scream a loud “NO” to thoughts in your head that declare you’re “good” for eating minimal calories or “bad” because you ate a piece of chocolate cake.

I don’t want to weigh myself until I have had a “good” eating week where I didn’t overeat. I’m taking it day by day. The more I tell myself that I can’t have certain sugar laden foods, the more I want it. Today I had a chocolate caramel muffin from Starbucks, damn that thing was good.

I’ve been struggling, but I’m still in the game. I need to stop avoiding the scale and just buck up and take it for where I am now and dust myself off and try again.

Leave a Reply

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

Black Hijabi In Indonesia

The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Hollywood Life

Latest Hollywood Gossip, News & Celeb Pics

Triathlon-My-Ass-Along

On my way to swimming, biking and running to a new life.

TRANSFORMATION PICS

IF WE CAN DO IT, YOU CAN DO IT - INSPIRE & BE INSPIRED

Markvaughan2009's Blog

Sharing thoughts on fitness and weight loss...

Bella on the Beach

My journey to lose 160 pounds and to finally be able to wear a bathing suit (and look good!) on the beach.

Amazing in Motion

I'm a mom, a wife, a nurse and now I'm a runner...catch me if you can!

