Dysfunctional Patterns

Tonight I went to therapy and my therapist made a chart of my dysfunctional pattern pertaining to unhealthy eating. I took a picture of it.img_1084

So in case you can’t read the handwriting I will summarize.

In the middle is my dysfunctional pattern: Not eating healthy. It is my comfort zone. The goal is to replace it with a healthy lifestyle.

On the left  are the CAUSES of my dysfunctional pattern.

  1. Easy/save efforts. I find that eating unhealthy is very easy and I don’t like doing things that require effort.
  2. High motivation or otherwise known as cravings. I am very motivated to satisfy my cravings.
  3. Temporary high. I get a high from eating sugar.
  4. physical addiction. This pretty much goes with the cravings.
  5. Immediate gratification. Eating healthy does not gratify me in the short term. In the long term MAYBE I will get a result from it but I don’t get the immediate result that I get from eating sugar.
  6. We added another Cause AFTER I took the picture. Fear of Failure. I don’t eat healthy because I am afraid that if I get on a healthy eating regimen I will relapse after awhile then eat more crap than before then gain more weight than before and eventually weigh 600 pounds.

On the right are CONSEQUENCES of my dysfunctional pattern.

  1. gaining weight
  2. potential threats to my health like diabetes, heart disease, trouble standing and walking, knees hurt, back hurts.
  3. Less romantic relationships. I find the pool of guys who want to date me or who is attracted to me is small and I blame that on my weight.
  4. Hard to get a job in the field that I am interested in. I want to work at a resort spa, they usually hire people who look healthy not overweight.
  5. Prevent from having a meaningful life. I feel like my life would be better if I was not overweight.
  6. Shame. One of the consequences of eating loads of cake, donuts and cookies is I feel ashamed afterward.

So we are going to work on changing this dysfunctional pattern. He said I have the choice to change but that there are obstacles in my way. I feel like I need to change my beliefs or work on the causes, but he said that is not what you do first. He said first you change the behavior and your beliefs will follow. But the thing is he said I should not suddenly just start eating healthy, he said I should do it gradually. And I don’t feel I can be perfect at eating healthy even though I don’t know if I can lose weight if I’m not. But he said the goal is not  weight loss, the goal is to eat healthy.

I’m excited to get started.

Leave a Reply

Melissa Explains It All

My Life unfiltered... all in good humor

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Can Anybody Hear Me?

Uncovered Myself One Pound at a Time; Still Discovering Myself One Day at a Time

Black Hijabi In Indonesia

The contents of this Web site are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. Government or the Peace Corps.

Hollywood Life

Latest Hollywood Gossip, News & Celeb Pics

Triathlon-My-Ass-Along

On my way to swimming, biking and running to a new life.

TRANSFORMATION PICS

IF WE CAN DO IT, YOU CAN DO IT - INSPIRE & BE INSPIRED

Markvaughan2009's Blog

Sharing thoughts on fitness and weight loss...

Bella on the Beach

My journey to lose 160 pounds and to finally be able to wear a bathing suit (and look good!) on the beach.

Amazing in Motion

I'm a mom, a wife, a nurse and now I'm a runner...catch me if you can!

